Growing Roses

I decided to make this info site after discovering for myself that it really IS possible to grow your own roses.

Let me tell you about it..

My first rose from my husband.

I was sitting at my kitchen table, a nervous wreck over this guy I had met at my church. I knew he liked me, and I had no idea why I was having feelings for him. I hadn’t dated since conceiving my then 8 year old daughter, and had no interest whatsoever in meeting someone.

Suddenly, a knock at my front door brought me back to reality. There stood prince charming with a Starbucks gift card, and the perfect “I like you” type rose…yellow with peach tints.

It was love at first sight (with the rose, I mean…the love for my husband came later).

Married three years later, and in our first home, my husband decided to choose a beautiful rose for our flower garden. Of course, we chose one that looked like his first to me. I can not tell you it’s name, I only know that it was, and is, completely beautiful.

And thus began our love affair with roses.

Today, roses line our rock wall, and grow up an arbor by our front  door.

On any down day, I can snip a cutting for propogation, put it on my window sill, and smile, knowing a new plant is on the way.

There’s no feeling quite like it.

Published in: on November 14, 2006 at 4:50 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://roselady.wordpress.com/2006/11/14/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. If I ever need information on roses I`ll now know where to look! Amazing! Maybe I should start painting them. If you fancy seeing my pictures, which aren’t roses have a look at artistsprogress.blogspot.com from Sue

    Like


Leave a Reply

